Popcorn: Pop the Question
Shailah of the Week by Rabbi Zvi Nussbaum
Rabbinic Coordinator, Kosher Hotline Administrator for the Orthodox Union
Are you one of those that has Angie’s popcorn on your Shabbos table or perhaps at a Kiddush? Many people noticed that Angie's popcorn, which they always took for granted as being parve, now has an OU-D on it. The OU Hotline rang off the hook in the last few days with questions about this product.
So here is what the OU found: The company was planning to have its popcorn produced by a factory that made dairy products. However, the move never happened. Angie’s, in the meantime, purchased a large amount of new packaging labeled OU-D, which they continued to use for their product although in actuality, the popcorn was never produced on dairy equipment.
A word of caution: Angie’s still carries some popcorn flavors that contain butter and are in fact dairy (Real Butter and White Cheddar Popcorn), but the rest of their flavors are not dairy.
Enjoy your Angie’s parve popcorn on Shabbos or whenever!