Nuts About Pesach

OU Kosher Jul 4, 2019 Leave a review
Save

Shailah of the Week by Rabbi Zvi Nussbaum

Rabbinic Coordinator, Kosher Hotline Administrator for the Orthodox Union

 

 

Are you one of those that must have nuts on Shabbos and Yom Tov? What about Pesach? The simple rule is that raw nuts in their shell do not require special certification for Pesach…

 

 

You guessed it! There are several “howevers” when it comes to nuts. First off, shelled nuts that list BHA or BHT (preservatives) in the ingredients require special certification for Pesach. Why? The preservatives are sprayed on the nuts using corn derivatives (kitniyot). If no additives are included, most nuts may be used without special Passover certification. That includes pasteurized nuts.

 

Pecans are only acceptable with special Kosher for Passover certification.

 

Here’s the last however: any nuts that are roasted or toasted cannot be kosher for Passover without certification.

 

Enjoy nuts this Pesach, but remember to check the howevers.

About the author

OU Kosher

124 articles • 57 recipes

The OU (Orthodox Union) Kosher is the world’s largest and most widely recognized kosher certification agency, certifying close to 1,000,000 products produced in over 9,500 plants located in more than 100 countries around the world.

View profile

Photos from Our Community

See how these recipes turned out in real kitchens. Photos from home cooks will appear here as they're shared.

Tell Us What You Think

0 Comments