Popcorn: Pop the Question

OU Kosher Jul 4, 2019 Leave a review
Save

Shailah of the Week by Rabbi Zvi Nussbaum

Rabbinic Coordinator, Kosher Hotline Administrator for the Orthodox Union

 

 

Are you one of those that has Angie’s popcorn on your Shabbos table or perhaps at a Kiddush? Many people noticed that Angie’s popcorn, which they always took for granted as being parve, now has an OU-D on it. The OU Hotline rang off the hook in the last few days with questions about this product.

 

 

So here is what the OU found:  The company was planning to have its popcorn produced by a factory that made dairy products. However, the move never happened. Angie’s, in the meantime, purchased a large amount of new packaging labeled OU-D, which they continued to use for their product although in actuality, the popcorn was never produced on dairy equipment. 

 

A word of caution: Angie’s still carries some popcorn flavors that contain butter and are in fact dairy (Real Butter and White Cheddar Popcorn), but the rest of their flavors are not dairy.

 

Enjoy your Angie’s parve popcorn on Shabbos or whenever!

About the author

OU Kosher

124 articles • 57 recipes

The OU (Orthodox Union) Kosher is the world’s largest and most widely recognized kosher certification agency, certifying close to 1,000,000 products produced in over 9,500 plants located in more than 100 countries around the world.

View profile

Photos from Our Community

See how these recipes turned out in real kitchens. Photos from home cooks will appear here as they're shared.

Tell Us What You Think

0 Comments